Essex County Bowling Association 2024 Season

1st Selection Games 4,6,7,9,10,12,13. (Original Issue) Unbadged 1st Game, 2nd Game, 3rd Game, 4th Game Badge *

ESSEX v SURREY (Game 4) – Match cancelled – Surrey unable to raise a team All players selected for this match will be awarded a credit

Venue: Falcon Bowls Club. Channels Drive, Chelmsford. CM3 3FB Date Thursday 16th May. Start time 2p.m. (Officer in Charge John Tully)

Tony Ellis	Chairman	Sandy Dron	Past President	Kevin Johnson	Bocking Alliance
Dave Bunker 3 rd	Bournemouth Park	Paul La Plain	Senior Deputy	Steve Cook	Bocking Alliance
Greg Luxford	Grays Town	Alan Hales 3 rd	Harold Hill	Dave Hendle	Danbury
Dave Starkey	President	David Jacobi	Group 6 Selector	Ken Clarke	Past President

John Dennison	Grays Town	Dave Griggs	Romford	Dennis Smith	Thurrock
Dave Spence	Writtle	Roger Quinton	Romford	Alan Benge 1st	Grays Town
Andy Beatty	Braintree	Vic Cole	Braintree	Trevor Daughtrey	Thorpe Bay
Chris Bryan	Life Member	Brian Stubbings	Maldon	John Tully	Officer in Charge

ESSEX v HERTFORDSHIRE (Game 6)

Venue: Northhaw & Cuffley Bowls Club. King George V Playing Field, Cuffley. EN6 4RD Date Tuesday 21st May. Start time 2p.m. (Officer in Charge John Tully)

Michael Cole 1st	Wivenhoe	Dave Griggs	Development	Ernie Brockman	Falcon
Mike Armsworth	Radwinter	Richard Strauss	Junior Deputy	David Vann 3 rd	Falcon
Mike Ferris	Dunmow	Jamie Lambert 3 rd	Harold Hill	Chris Waite	Dunmow
Dave Starkey	President	Chris Bryan	Romford	Dave King	Past President
		•			

Mel March	Larsen	Dave Torrice	Maldon	Trevor Baxter	Wivenhoe
Keith Jones	Group 8 Secretary	Terry Mizen	Secretary	Ian Roberts 2 nd	Steeple Bumpstead
Bob Hillier	Silverthorn	Gary Kendall	Billericay	Derek Emms	Wivenhoe
Tim Mould	Loughton	Matt Frost	Romford	John Tully	Officer in Charge

ESSEX v BERKSHIRE (Game 7)

Venue: Elsenham Bowls Club. Playing Field, off Leigh Drive, Elsenham, Nr Bishops Stortford. CM22 6BY Date Wednesday 22nd May. Start time 2p.m. (Officer in Charge Trevor Hackett)

Craig Herbert 1st	Grays Town	Vincent Facchini 1st	Kings Chase	Ted Vidler	Brentwood
Norman Christenson*	Hockley	Paul La Plain	Senior Deputy	Tony Allen	Braintree
Colin Adams	Liberty	Keith Jones	Harlow	Mark Cohen	Past President
Dave Starkey	President	Trevor Hackett	Officer in Charge	Kevin Robertson	Essex County

Ray Ascott	Silverthorn	Howard Butcher	Aveley	John Burgess	Hockley
George Kernaghan	Orford House	Steve Cooke 2 nd	Thames Sports	Richard Rood *	Buckhurst Hill
Eric Boltwood	Elsenham	Brian Hobbs	Handbook Editor	Mick Carter	Hockley
Alan Peace	Romford	Bill Gibson	Clavering	Richard Dodd	Past President

ESSEX v SUFFOLK (Game 9)

Venue: Clacton Bowls Club. Collingwood Road, Clacton-on-Sea. CO15 1UL Date Tuesday 28th May. Start time 2p.m. (Officer in Charge Terry Mizen)

		Stock & Buttsbury	Adrian Mann	Frinton	
Pat Finney Past Pre	sident Richard Strauss	Junior Deputy	Brian Walker *	Runwell	
Peter Barham Wanste	nd Central Richard Dodd	Past President	Malcolm Phillips	Runwell	
Dave Starkey Presider	nt Dave King	Past President	Mark Hale	Frinton	

Gordon Barrett	Witham	Sid Slater	Stock & Buttsbury	Ken Spicer	Wanstead Central
Peter Moore	South Benfleet	Steve Mackay	Wanstead Central	Terry Mizen	Officer in Charge
John Stealey	Witham	John Martin	Silver End	Paul Meckiff	Barley
Andy Cutts	Silver End	Martin King	Great Baddow	Keith Riley	Past President

ESSEX v GROUP 2 (I.P.P. Group 2 Select) (Game 10)

Venue: Silver End B.C. Broadway, Silver End Witham. CM8 3RA.

Date Thursday 30th May. Start time 2p.m. (Officer in Charge Stephen Hill)

Mark Cohen	Past President	Paul Hyde 1st	Clockhouse	Terry Knox 2 nd	Buckhurst Hill
Ben Staines 3 rd	Essex County	Paul La Plain	Senior Deputy	Robin Piggott	Colchester West End
Chris Flack	Group 6 Secretary	Julian Williams	Essex County	Brian Sims	Stock & Buttsbury
Dave Starkey	President	Alan Whale	Essex County	Glen Stephens	Buckhurst Hill
Alan Smith	Falcon	Tony Ellis	Chairman	Chris Clarke	Writtle
Dennis Tuerena 2 nd	Buckhurst Hill	Barry Sutton	Kings Chase	Roland Ellen 3 rd	Colchester West End
David Jones	Stock & Buttsbury	Dave Kelsey 2 nd	Silverthorn	Stephen Hill	Officer in Charge
Ken Clarke	Past President	Terry Brown	King Chase	Dave Comerford	Colchester West End

ESSEX SOUTH (Dave Starkey) v NORTH (Richard Dodd) (Game 12) (5 Rinks)

Venue: Castle Point B.C. Woodside Park, Manor Road, Benfleet. SS7 4PD Date Tuesday 4th June. Start time 2p.m. (Officer in Charge Terry Mizen)

Ken Spicer	Group 5 Secretary	Taylor Marshall 2 nd	Essex County	Mick Kelleher 1st	Corringham
Terry Mizen	Officer in Charge	John Crowe	South Benfleet	Clive Garraway	Corringham
Dave Starkey	President	Stuart Harvey	Southend	Bill Lowe 2 nd	The Springhouse
Dave King	Past President	David Jacobi	Thorpe Bay	Jim Welsh	Corringham

David O'Leary	Gidea Park	Ted Kerr	Hainault
Dave Wood 2 nd	Kings Chase	Eric Brown *	Hainault
Les Howard	Gidea Park	Peter Barham	Wanstead Central
Alan Warner	Harold Hill	Keith Riley	Past President

ESSEX NORTH (Richard Dodd) v SOUTH (Dave Starkey) (Game 12) (5 Rinks)

Venue: Castle Point B.C. Woodside Park, Manor Road, Benfleet. SS7 4PD Date Tuesday 4th June. Start time 2p.m. (Officer in Charge Trevor Hackett)

Richard Strauss	Junior Deputy	Peter Pushman 2 nd	Woods	Jeff Daniells	Stebbing
Mike Ferris	Financial Examiner	Stephen Warner *	Colchester W/E	Jim Garvan 2 nd	Steeple Bumpstead
Richard Dodd	Past President	Mark Brown	Frinton	John Daniells	Tiptree
Trevor Hackett	Officer in Charge	Trevor Owen	Mersea Island	David Kuyper	Steeple Bumpstead

Martin Goddard 2 nd	Chelmsford	Gordon Chapman 1st	Griffin
Steve Warden	Stock & Buttsbury	Colin Bond	Buckhurst Hill
Mark Janes	Chelmsford	Dennis Heavin *	Silverthorn
Peter Spooner	Southminster	Mark Townsend	Silverthorn

ESSEX v ESSEX PAST PRESIDENTS (Game 13)

Venue: Frinton Bowls Club. Park Playing Fields, Jubilee Way, Frinton -on Sea. CO13 OAP Date Thursday 6th June. Start time 2p.m. (Officer in Charge Pat Finney)

Sandy Dron	Past President	Gary Grinstead	Radwinter	Tony Ellis	Chairman
Stuart Walsh	Thorpe- Le- Soken	Paul La Plain	Senior Deputy	Darren Allen 1st	West Mersea
David Mitchell- Gears	Past President	Nick Dykes *	Radwinter	Derek Willett	Danbury
Dave Starkey	President	Wally Pope	P.M.L.	Andrew Penfold	Silver End

Peter Leatherdale 1st	Arclight	Dennis Sheldrake	Danbury	Derek Smith	Romford
Pat Finney	Officer in Charge	Kevin Glover 2 nd	Rochford	Tony Reeves	Clockhouse
Andy Eva	South Benfleet	Ian Norman	Arclight	Jim Druce	South Benfleet
Ray Everitt	Silver End	John Morgan	King Chase	Peter Knight	Woods

Please Note: The above list of players is supplied by the Group Selectors and is subject to change through non-availability.